Friday, February 29, 2008

Surf & Turf Kabobs

Ok, so not to brag or anything, but the kabobs I made tonight were outstanding! My only complaint is that I couldn't eat more! LOL So, I thought I'd share the recipe.

(Now, keep in mind, I normally cook like Rachel Ray. I've never been fond of measureing anything LOL so bear with me!) I started by soaking wooden skewers for about 4 hours. Then I preheated my oven to a low broil. I cut the following veggies into chunks big enough to not break when piercing with the skewer: 1 zucchini, 1 yellow squash, 1 yellow bell pepper, 1 green bell pepper. I then sprinkled on them: Salt, pepper, garlic salt, cilantro and lime juice. I say, use as much as you normally like, go easy on the garlic salt. I probably used 1/2 tsp of salt, 2 tbsp lime juice and a tsp of everything else.

While the veggies are "marinating", cut up 1 fillet of Tilapia (or your fav. white fish), 2 boneless pork loin chops and de-shell and de-vein approximately 15 large shrimp. Sprinkle all meats with everything you sprinkled the veggies with except the regular salt.

On each skewer I then put: one green pepper. one piece of pork, one zucchini, one piece of fish. one squash, one shrimp, then one yellow pepper.

I pour any of the excess marinade into a 13 x 9 baking dish and I then placed the skewers width-wise onto the dish (so the the ends of the skewers were hanging off and the meat laid above the marinade).

Bake them approx. 10 mins, or until pork is cooked through. I'm going to do these on on the grill next time I'm sure they'll be even better!

Enjoy!

Day 5 - Phase 1

Hello fellow bloggers! I'm still feeling pretty crappy physically, but mentally, I'm on top of my game this morning! Feeling really positive about my life! Interresting thing happened this morning, I went to get a fat free sugar free latte and told them no whipped cream because 1. I cant have that and 2. they drizzle caramel on it and cant have that either. So I get to the window and sure enough its sitting there with whipped cream and caramel drizzle on it ... it would've been SO easy to just take it because it sure did look yummy. However, I practiced my self control and said, I dont mean to be a pain but I'm diabetic and i asked for no sugar or whipped cream and the manager made me a fresh one and I heard him telling the worker she needs to pay attention LOL. I'm SO proud of myself today! I'm not feeling up to eating much today so I didnt eat much for breakfast but I'm really going to try to eat my whole lunch because I know I'll lose energy later if I dont. I continue to pray for strength everyday to continue on my journey successfully!

Today's Menu:
Breakfast: FF, SF Yogurt; FF, SF Latte
Snack: 10 cal sugar free jello
Lunch: 1 C Chili, salad
Snack: no snack
Dinner: surf & turf kabobs and salad
Dessert: Jello with coolwhip free

Thursday, February 28, 2008

94 Pounds and 94 Reasons - Part 2

Continued:

51: To be able to truly enjoy food
52: To look good when I perform my friend's wedding next year
53: To no longer be "skinny on the inside"
54: To better the 'relationship' with my husband
55: To feel confident to try new things
56: So that my 6 year old's friends stop telling my son his mom is fat (yes that actually happens, big shame on those parents)
57: So that I can put my other mirrors back up in the house
58: Maybe I'll have the confidence I need to get back into performing music
59: To not be the biggest mom at my mom's meetups
60: So that I can play games more regularly with my kids
61: To keep up with housework better
62: To not feel like everyone is staring
63: To be able to get medical procedures without extra risk because I'm heavy
64: To daydream about things other than food (yes, I do that)
65: So that I finally feel comfy to go to Miami Beach!
66: To not be so tired all the time.
67: To no longer place blame for my weight.
68: To no longer feel guilty that I'm not living up to my potential due to weight.
69: To go to a dance class for fun and not weight issues.
70: To feel comfortable at a gym.
71: To not cringe at my shadow or reflection.
72: To get compliments! (yes, I'm aware that's vain! LOL)
73: To walk quieter
74: So I don't live in fear
75: Add years to my life
76: Lessen my digestive issues
77: Lessen need for medication
78: Appreciate myself fully
79: Not break those little plastic lawn chairs
80: Become more aware of my body
81: To be more understanding of my relationship with food
82: Have confidence to go back to college with the younger kids
83: People wont notice my "fat" first
84: To not feel tempted to weigh myself
85: So its more about how I feel than how much I weigh
86: So people will ask, how'd you do it! And maybe I can help/inspire them
87: To stop using humor to hide how I really feel about my weight
88: To make it easier to be honest with myself
89: To know if I did this, I can do anything
90: So I can add to my list of successes
91: Will help my hormone imbalance
92: Have more room, less clostophobic
93: To be totally submerged in my bath tub! My belly wont stick out! yeay!
94: So that I have 94+ reasons to be proud!

I realize that a lot of these may not apply to some and that some of these might make you say "well that doesnt matter anyway!" specifically regarding the things that others think and feel about me. The truth is, whether you're rock solid or not, ESPECIALLY if you struggle with your weight, little things like that do affect you in the long run. If you're saying to yourself, no they dont, then your not being honest with yourself. Thank you all for reading this :-)

Day 4 - Phase 1

Still doing well, although I think I'm coming down with a cold. I met most of my goals yesterday. I did 1/2 hr of Shimmy (its belly dancing exercise) and I got 1/2 my 94 reasons typed out. I have 44 left to type today and I also want to start thinking about some goals/rewards I want to set for myself. As usual, I'm going to try 30 mins structured exercise again tonight.

My menu for the day is as follows:
Breakfast: 1/2 cup egg beaters, tea
Snack: none planned, snack time now and I'm not hungry
Lunch: Chicken Breast Salad
Snack: Celery Boats
Dinner: Chicken stir fry (no rice) and a salad.
Dessert: SB Peanut butter cup

My mood is not great today so I'm really going to have to keep an eye on my usual snacking when moody behavior. Although I'm super proud of myself. I'm so used to getting my kids snacks and taking a bite...yesterday I gave my son a pack of gummys and just popped one in my mouth out of habit. I realized what I did immediately and spit it out LOL. I think my son was afraid to eat them after that thinking they were bad LOL. Poor thing!

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Day 3 Follow Up

I think my stomach is changing already. I found myself to be struggling to eat all of my meals today. I changed up dinner as well. I didn't feel like pork chops so I ended up with the following:

Breakfast: Celery Boats (Celery with 2 tbsp nut butter), tea
Snack: Mozz Stick
Lunch: Salad and sirloin left from last night
Snack: Ham Roll up
Dinner: 1/2 serving Eggplant "Manicotti", 1/2 a hot dog
Dessert: Sugar Free Jello with Cool Whip Free

I'm going right now to call my OA sponsor and then try to do my 1/2 hr. exersize before American idol and my sugar free jello LOL.

PS: Sorry I'm blogging several times in a day now. I'm finding it theraputic.

94 Pounds and 94 Reasons - Part 1

94 Reasons to lose 94 Pounds:

1. Look better.
2. Feel "lighter".
3. Improve overall health.
4. Walk without losing breath.
5. Have more energy.
6. Prevent boarderine Type 2 Diabetes from getting worse.
7. Have the energy to play with my kids.
8. Decrease symptoms of my PCOD.
9. Be able to buy trendier clothes.
10. Increase self esteem.
11. Feel confident my husband is attracted to me (even though he says he is now, God bless him! *wink*)
12. Be a role model for others trying to lose weight.
13. Be a role model for my children to not let weight get the best of them.
14. Sit in a seat on the airplane without the arm rests cutting off circulation.
15. Be able to fully cross my legs.
16. To wear only a bathing suit to the beach, nothing over it.
17. To promote self-confidence.
18. To be comfortable in public.
19. To be able to sit in a chair comfortably.
20. To not feel guilty when I eat.
21. To be able to fit in the sports car I want!
22. To be healthier if we ever had any more children.
23. To decrease risk of heart attack and stroke that run in my family.
24. To decrease excess sweating. Look hot, not feel hot!
25. To look "hot" on our 10th anniversary trip my husband and I have planned.
26. To fit in my clothes better.
27. Eat to live, not live to eat.
28. Prove the people wrong that said I couldn't do it.
29. Be a knockout at my highschool reunion.
30. Prove to myself I don't need food to be happy.
31. Be able to run a mile... or more!
32. Be out of "plus size" clothes.
33. NO MORE CHAFFING! My thighs won't rub together anymore! LOL
34. No more of the "does she need to be eating?" look from people in restaurants.
35. Look more professional at work.
36. Fit better in a movie theatre chair.
37. Be able to get up off the floor without feeling like I need a crane!
38. Minimize the strain on my back injury.
39. Be able to play a sport.
40. Minimize the need for my inhaler.
41. Be able to "walk the mall".
42. Be able to fit into tight places.
43. Not be afraid to park because I won't have to open the door all the way.
44. Shave my legs or other hygene dilemas without struggling.
45. Look in a mirror and be satisfied.
46. Will not exceed the weight limit on my attic ladder.
47. Can ride ALL the rides at the amusement park!
48. Actually like the pictures of myself.
49. Can say I beat 2 eating disorders and I did it the healthy way!
50. Give a better first impression.

Day 3 - Phase 1

WOW am I tired this morning. Great news is, my meds I started have stopped bothering my stomach. We'll see what happens when I up to two on friday! On top of not sleeping well my boys were terrors last night so I spent almost the entire night upset and chasing around after them. Needless to say, I didn't meet my goal for yesterday which was to do 1/2 hr of structured exersise. I think that's going to be my goal on a daily basis, because I know there will be times in the life of someone with three kids, that it doesn't get done. Also, I was in a totally different mood yesterday when I got home so I changed my menu a little bit from yesterday. It ended up being:

Breakfast - 1 soy sausage link, 1/4 C egg beater veggie omlet, fat free/sugar free latte
Snack - (wasn't hungry come snack time)
Lunch - Roasted chicken salad w/ 2 tbsp diet dressing (with cheese)
Snack - (wasn't hungry come snack time)
Dinner - Sirloin with peppers and onions, salad, zucchini w/ parmesean cheese
Dessert - South Beach "Peanut Butter Cup"

Two things I want to share from yesterday that were AWESOME are the Salad I made and the "Peanut Butter Cup".

The salad I made was: 1 1/2 C baby spinich, 6 radishes thinly sliced, 1/2 can of rinsed and drained kidney beans, 1 tomato sliced, 1 cucumber sliced, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp pepper, 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I honestly don't know where in my head this recipe came from but it was great! It was very tasty without putting dressing on it...of course, my kids are "sauce" fanatics so they had to have it, but even my 6 year old complimented me on how good it was!

I got the south beach "peanut butter cup" off that website and it was fantastic. I have to say, it didn't make much, but it was the right amount to give me that little sweet kick I'm used to having. You take 1 sugar free fudgesicle off the stick and put it in a bowl, I nuked it in the micrwave for 15 seconds. Stir in 1 tbsp creamy peanutbutter and 2 tablespoons Cool Whip Free. Mix well and enjoy! Actually I put mine in the freezer for 20 mins because I like everything cold and it was awesome. It's almost like a chocolate/peanutbutter moose.

Ok...My menu as planned for the day:

Breakfast: Celery Boats (Celery with 2 tbsp nut butter), tea
Snack: Mozz Stick
Lunch: Salad and sirloin left from last night
Snack: Ham Roll up
Dinner: Pork Loin Chop, Eggplant parmesean, Mixed Green Salad
Dessert: Sugar Free Jello with Cool Whip Free

As will be my usual: My first goal for the day is to do structured exersize for 30 mins. Also, I'm totally stealing this from another blog but I'm going to make a list of things / reasons why I need to lose weight. My list will be as long as how many pounds I need to lose, in my case, 94. Wish me luck!

Tuesday, February 26, 2008

Day 2 - Phase 1

So I'm feeling great today! Followed my diet to a tee yesterday so I'm very proud of myself. It was very difficult but thats what makes it wonderful. This is the most self control I've had with food in a long time!....ok ok, EVER!

Today's meal plan is a follows:

Breakfast - 1 soy sausage link, 1/4 C egg beater veggie omlet, fat free/sugar free latte
Snack - 1 mozz stick
Lunch - Roasted chicken salad w/ 2 tbsp diet dressing
Snack - 1/4 C peanuts
Dinner - Sirloin, mixed veggies, 1/2 cup beans
Dessert - Vanilla Creme (basically like sugar free cannoli filling...YUM!)

Goal for the day: Do at least 1/2 hr exercise tonight.

Monday, February 25, 2008

Monday 2/25/08

Monday weigh in: 230

I've done well so far today and I'm very proud of myself for my eating behavior last night. I was so nervous about removing all the breads and sugars from my diet I thought I would have a HUGE spaghetti dinner and a big bowl of ice cream for dessert. But, I went to my first OA meeting and after that went grocery shopping and I thought to myself, "Self, it would not be a good idea to over indulge tonight, you'll just have more problems tomorrow cutting back!" So I held it together well and fixed myself something from my diet menu! I'm super proud of myself!

Today I'm having the following:
Breakfast: Egg Beaters and Veggie Juice (Yea, I gagged my way through that so gotta get my veggies another way)
Snack: Mozz Cheese Stick
Lunch: Ham roll ups and salad
Snack: 1/4 cup peanuts
Dinner: Chicken Breast, salad, beans
Dessert: Sugar Free Jello Parfait

Today's Summary:
Mood - Optimistic
Hunger - Well controlled
What I like - The diet is filling
What I dont like - Lack of choices the first phase of the diet
Goal for the day - Continue using water and waiting to control hunger urges

Saturday, February 23, 2008

Outlook

Today I made 2 models of myself you can see on the left hand side of the screen. One is my starting weight and the other is my goal weight at 140lbs. When I start my structured diet on Monday I will be adding a 3rd model in between that will show my current weight which I will update every monday for my weigh-in. I've decided to change things around a bit after yesterday's new information. Weigh-in's will be every monday. Measure-in's will be every 4th monday. Each day I can, I will post what I eat, how I feel and any exercize I've done for the day.

This morning I went on the South Beach website and got signed up online and have been working on my profile today so that I can get my menu and grocery list planned this weekend. My new medication is really tearing up my stomach like he said it might, so I'm really trying not to push myself today.

This diet starts of with 2 weeks of intense and strict dieting in which you cut out the majority of the foods that make you crave bad foods. No breads, rice, sweets, fruit etc. The majority of the diet the first two weeks is meats, veggies and dairy. I thought it was going to be impossible but the menu doesnt actually look that bad!

I'm feeling very tired today, kind of run down. I think I've been killing myself emotionally. I think im going to try to get some things done around here...

Friday, February 22, 2008

Finally....

Today was an ok for day with eating. I didn't really watch the specifics of what I was eating but I definately didnt OVEReat by any means.

I'm glad the day is almost over to be honest. I'm very tired today.

I had my visit with the hormone specialist that my GYN that just did my surgury referred me to today. He was FANTASTIC! I have truly been blessed with the last 2 drs I have seen. They have both been great and after all this time, dr after dr of telling me its all in my head, I finally got 2 drs that have said, "WAIT A MIN! Something isn't right here! Let's run some tests!"

So I saw the endocrinologist today about my hormone issues and I finally got a diagnosis. I have polycystic overian disease and am boarderling hypoglycemic. Both of those things tend to feed into eachother so they are treating both. I was started on a new birthcontrol to help me with the symptoms of PCOD and also started on Metformin tonight to control my insulin levels. On top of that, I have to start the South Beach diet immediately. Once I can control my sugar and weight better I should start to see the syptoms of pcod lessen. and BOY OH BOY I can't wait for that day to come!

So now, because diabetes runs rampent in my family, I dont have a choice but to diet and lose weight right now. However, it was SO nice to hear that these last couple of years it hasn't been just me, that it's not all in my head.

A New Day Has Dawned

Boy am I tired this morning. I didn't sleep well at all last night.

Feeling bright today though. :-) I have a dr. appointment at 1:30pm to the GYN specialist as a follow up to my surgury I just had. Have had a lot of "female" type issues over the years so I'm trying to get things taken care of (feel free to see my other blog www.notmyonlyexistence.blogspot.com for more information on that).

I'm not feeling hungry right now, but should I feel hungry before I go to the store I'm going to have 2 egg whites, using I can't believe it's not butter spray. I may stop for a coffee as well...skim milk of course!...well, hopefully. This is the compulsion issue I have with food. I have great intentions, but can never seem to follow through. It's weird because it's almost like a "blackout" type of feeling after I have any type of binge. The other day I had a huge lunch and then when I got home I took the boys to get ice cream. Next thing I know I'm pulling out of tacobell with a 7 layer burrito.

Because of incidents like that, I've decided I'm going to start attending OA, Overeaters Anonymous. My mom is an alcoholic and attended AA for quite some time. It's scarey because I see a lot of my food behaviors are the same as a lot of her alcohol behaviors. For example, there's the hiding part of it. This is really hard for me to talk about. When I have company, I do a really good job at pretending I eat really well and I just can't understand why I have a weight issue. I'll actually go out and buy really healthy things to put into my fridge and pantry when I'm expecting company. If, god forbid, company takes me out to a meal at a restaurant I force myself to just pick at it, or not finish a huge plate when I really want to.

Thursday, February 21, 2008

The weight of it all...

After taking my photo and measurements tonight, I'm feeling very depressed so I'd rather just post the info now and get this first weigh in over with.

Date: 2/20/08
Days on diet: 0
Mood: depressed
Height: 5'2.5"

Current measurements:
Weight - 234 lbs
Waist - 53.5"
Bust - 51.5"
Hips - 55.5"
Biceps - 14.5" x2
Thighs - 29" x2
Calves - 17.5" x2

There it is, out in the open. I think I might be sick. Tomorrow morning after I have some fruit for breakfast I'm going to go to the store and buy some heathy foods for the house. I'm also going to compress the picture I took and update this post with it. I decided I'm going to do weigh-ins every Friday and Measurements every 1st day of the month. Also, the last day of each month I'm going to reflect on things a bit as well as to post my goals for the next month.

Thats it for now.

And so it begins...

As my relationship with my husband improves, oddly enough, my self esteem worsens. I thought when my marriage got better I would feel better about my relationship. The truth is, the more my husband changes for the better and does things for me...and the more my kids grow up and want a parent who's able to play with them without hurting...the more I realize that this "eating" thing I have going on is affecting more than just me.

I'm disgusted with how I look and feel. My heath is getting worse and as shallow as it sounds, so are my looks.

I know this much:
1. I am a good person. I have a caring heart and soul. This caring heart and soul deserves a beautiful and healthy body to reside in.
2. My husband deserves a wife who cares about her body. My husband has vowed to love me no matter my size, but he doesnt deserve to add my weight issues to his plate.
3. My kids deserve a mother who cares about her body. All they want to do is play and I can no longer even walk without getting out of breath.
4. I'm scared. My health and pain level in my back has been overwhelming lately. I'm honestly scared for my life. People at my age should not feel like this.

I'm on the right path. I've been told that I'm ready now based on these things I'm feeling. I KNOW I overeat and now I just need to fix it. I'm praying for strength.

This is the begninning of my journey. I hope you will join me for the ride!

*Tonight I'm going to take my first photo, weight and measurements. Tomorrow's goal is to suck it up, and post the information.*