Friday, February 22, 2008

Finally....

Today was an ok for day with eating. I didn't really watch the specifics of what I was eating but I definately didnt OVEReat by any means.

I'm glad the day is almost over to be honest. I'm very tired today.

I had my visit with the hormone specialist that my GYN that just did my surgury referred me to today. He was FANTASTIC! I have truly been blessed with the last 2 drs I have seen. They have both been great and after all this time, dr after dr of telling me its all in my head, I finally got 2 drs that have said, "WAIT A MIN! Something isn't right here! Let's run some tests!"

So I saw the endocrinologist today about my hormone issues and I finally got a diagnosis. I have polycystic overian disease and am boarderling hypoglycemic. Both of those things tend to feed into eachother so they are treating both. I was started on a new birthcontrol to help me with the symptoms of PCOD and also started on Metformin tonight to control my insulin levels. On top of that, I have to start the South Beach diet immediately. Once I can control my sugar and weight better I should start to see the syptoms of pcod lessen. and BOY OH BOY I can't wait for that day to come!

So now, because diabetes runs rampent in my family, I dont have a choice but to diet and lose weight right now. However, it was SO nice to hear that these last couple of years it hasn't been just me, that it's not all in my head.

1 comment:

Greg C said...

Doing good today. So far so good. We can do it. I am proud of you.